The Importance of Being Earnest

Hi guys! So this isn’t really an update; it’s more of an “I’m not dead — honestly!” post. Because… I’m not dead! =D So yeah, because of the reasons mentioned in the last post, life’s been pretty crazy lately and I actually haven’t uploaded anything on YouTube since. (Not of me, anyway.) SO, to hold you guys over until I get a chance to record again, here’s a little video from the not-so-ancient archives:

This is a scene from “The Importance of Being Earnest” by Oscar Wilde that I performed in for my theatre class final this past winter. It’s one of those funny scenes which was made even funnier because besides being an awkward proposal scene, my scene partner, Terry, was an international student from Korea and so he had a completely different perspective on the character than I did. (I should mention I practically tortured him during our rehearsals because I kept laughing at his facial expressions and sometimes his phrasing of the words. I felt so bad because he was trying so hard to play it straight and I kept dissolving into laughter, and he’d start laughing with me and the practice would go AWOL.)

Anyway, a note about the actual performance: It was two days after my first ever choir performance with the Vintage Singers, the school’s advanced choir, and I’d really pushed myself, so much so that I ended up very ill that night, and the next morning I found I’d lost my voice. This is the following day, when my voice had returned marginally but it’s entirely in my chest voice. I had no head voice for the following month. It was torture during auditions for the next quarter’s Vintage try-outs. At least I still made it, though, so it’s all good. ^_^

So, hope you enjoy. I’ll try to post something up again soon! Salamat!

2 Comments

  1. Dina said,

    August 11, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I think you guys did great in the scene. I’m very impressed with Terry. I can’t imagine going to another country, learning the language, and performing a scene so well. I think he was great for the scene. It’s the first time I’ve seen it, so for me…it would now seem odd to see the character as someone with English as their first language.

    You play your part so well, that it threw me when you asked for your lines. I felt that you were the character, so it seemed like this character was calling out for someone to tell her what to say. Actually, the first time you looked lost and asked for your lines, I thought that was part of the show. Well, I thought your confused look was part of it. Then I understood what was happening once you asked for your lines.

  2. Megan said,

    August 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks! Yes, he was great. The teacher was also wonderful with helping to encourage him and complimented him several times on how well he’d been doing with the language; I think he was only in America for that one quarter, which is like… 12 weeks or something. So it’s pretty impressive. ^_^

    It was the first time I’d read the play, and afterward I watched the Importance of Being Earnest starring Colin Firth and Rupert Everrett (did I spell that right?) as Jack and Algernon, respectively. I was unfamiliar with the lady who played Gwendolen, but I do know Reese Witherspoon played Cecily Cardew. It was very strange to hear her speaking with a British Accent. Anyway, I enjoyed that version quite a lot, even though the way they played the proposal scene was completely different from the way Terry and I did.

    Lol. I was just trying to force some voice out of my throat at that point; the dress rehearsal had gone much better, because I didn’t have my medical issues interfering with my concentration. Ah, well… c’est la vie. But yeah, I was so busy trying to actually SAY my lines loud enough that I forgot in the middle of my ridiculous monologue how it went. lol. It was pretty funny once the whole voice fiasco was over; I was the one with no voice and our scene was Terry: 1 line, Me: Monologue, Terry: 1 line, Me: Monologue. =P

    Thanks again for your review/comment/whatever we’re supposed to call it. ^_^


Leave a comment