Cover by Megan, Kevin, and Justin: “Bright Eyes” — Art Garfunkel (2009)

This was originally recorded in 2009, at my high school graduation party, for family and friends. Our Lola Acay, (Lola being the word for grandmother, though she was really our dad’s-father’s-sister) had passed away a couple of weeks prior and we sang this at her funeral during the vigil and as she was being lowered into the ground (much like with “Into the West” at my Grandpa Dean’s vigil and funeral this past January). I believe I would have been about 17 here. Kevin was probably 16, and Justin was probably about 6. I picked this song to be our tribute to her because our Lola Acay had a beautiful, warm personality and was always smiling, and whenever she did, her eyes would absolutely light up.

Background Information:

“Bright Eyes” was written by Mike Batt and originally recorded by Art Garfunkel (of Simon and Garfunkel) for the animated film “Watership Down”.

It’s been remade several times, but my favorites are all by boys with treble (unchanged/soprano) voices. I’m pretty sure I was introduced to this song through Joseph McManners, and then through that video, found the version by Declan Galbraith. I’m pretty sure I’ve posted both of those videos in my “An Angel” cover post, so here’s a cover by the adorable Gwion Wyn Jones, one of the three boys who won the BBC’s “I’d Do Anything” competition to find the next Nancy and Oliver for the West End production of “Oliver!” (the musical). He’s a little pitch at points, and the first time I heard it, the accent threw me off, but it’s still a great rendition.

Leave a comment